Tea Cup Tuesday – Afternoon Tea

Afternoon Tea

My copper kettle
whistles merrily
and signals that
it is time for tea.

The fine china cups
are filled with the brew.
There’s lemon and sugar
and sweet cream, too.

But, best of all
there’s friendship, between you and me.
As we lovingly share
our afternoon tea.
- Marianna Arolin


It’s been a while since I have shared some op shop finds;

I love this easel and I have plans to use this when I eventually get a craft stall up and running, in the meantime this will hold this piece of art which holds a special place in our home courtesy of Roo.

Although you can’t see them too well in this photo there are some cute light green hand-knitted fingerless gloves in there that have a wee sparkle in the wool. Hmmmmm might have to take a photo of them.

Another shot of my goodies. I love the plaster tin and will put real plasters in there.

This measuring jug reminds me of the one that my mum has in her kitchen.

and this cute tray I have plans for.

then there were these cute “Mary had a little lamb”  jig saws which I want to get framed and hung on the wall.
So do you recognise any of these objects from your childhood or parents/grandparents era?

Comments

  1. Go you. You do find the most amazing items.

  2. Well I still have my Wombles book with that exact same cover; and we had those jigsaw puzzles too:)

  3. Ohhh love the easel!!! Man I want to come op shopping in Welly.

  4. So love op shop finds :o)

  5. hehehe – love the Cadbury measuring cup! ;)

  6. What neat finds! I also love the measuring cup, although I think it would make me want chocolate whenever I used it … ;-)

  7. An interesting page. I’m discovering my little poem, ‘AFTERNOON TEA’ being used all over the world. Little did I know it would become so sought after back in 1988 when I wrote it for my Mother. IDEALS published it in a Friendship volume. Harvest House publishers included it twice in a book, The Art of Tea and Friendship by Sandra Lynam Clough. It’s being used in Denmark for advertising. In England for tea parties and receptions. The list goes on and on.

    I am the author of two books of poetry. HERE IN MY GARDEN Watermark press (out of print0
    ROSE ARBOR Dog Ear Publishing available at http://www.RoseArborPoetry.com or Amazon
    ISBN:978-159858-529-2 you can find several of my poems on the Starlite Cafe.com, also Poem hunters and Helium. Order through local book stores too. Marianna Jo Arolin

I love hearing what you think, please leave a reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

