Crockpot Challenge – Alison’s Lazy Lasagne

Last night I made Alison’s Lazy Lasagne on page 47 from the “100 great ways to use slow cookers & crockpots” by Simon and Alison Holst. If you have this book or her other slow cooker books, please feel free to join in and share your recipes with us on your blog or make suggestions of recipes to try.

4-6 servings
LOW cook for 8-9 hours
( I would suggest 7 hours).

Lasagne

2 cloves of garlic, peeled and chopped
1x 400gm can of whole or diced tomatoes in juice
1x 30g pkt tomato soup, or tomato and onion soup mix
500gm minced beef
1/2 cup tomato paste
1 tsp each dried basil and oregano
2 tsp instant beef stock
1 cup of hot water
250 g (about 3-4 cups) small lasagne shapes or long lasagne sheets

Topping:

2 tsp cornflour
1 large egg
3/4 cup milk, sour cream or a mixture of these
1 cup of tasty cheese
paprika (optional) I used this.
To Make the Lasagne:

Turn the slow cooker on HIGH to preheat & coat the bowl with non-stick spray.

Put the garlic & tomatoes (with any juice) into a food processor or large bowl & process or mash with a fork to break up the tomatoes. Add the soup mix, minced beef, tomato paste, herbs, stock and water, then process or mix until well combined.

Spread 1/3 of mixture evenly over the bottom of the cooker. Place half the lasagne noodles over the meat. Repeat the layering with another 1/3 of the meat mixture, then remaining lasagne then cover with last 1/3 of meat.

To Make the Topping:

To make the topping, mix together the topping ingredients and pour this over the top and sprinkle with paprika if you like (optional).  Turn the slow cooker to LOW & cook for 8-9 hours. Serve with a green salad or cooked vegetables and garlic bread.

Findings:

I was hesitant about trying this as I am a traditionalist when it comes to lasagne. However this dish was fantastic in the crock pot. I used the smaller lasagne noodles and they came out fab in the crock pot. I would recommend this recipe. Next time I would add some grated carrot and some finely chopped mushrooms to the main mixture.  I  used 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/4 cup of milk.  I love that I can make this and cook in conventionally in the oven. We served this with a salad and will be having leftovers for lunch.

I cooked this lasagne on low for 7.5 hours next time I would make it I would shorten this to 7 hours as the topping was a little brown around the outside.

Comments

  1. So glad you liked it. The oven version of Alison’s Lazy Lasagne was one of the first dinners I ever learned to cook when I was a teenager! :-)

    Great tip about using the smaller noodles. I did that too last time I made it, and the texture was much nicer than the bigger sheets.

  2. I’m glad to hear that you liked it:)

  3. Ohh that looks good. Adding it to my meal plan for when Mr A is away!

  4. Now that looks so yum that it might even tempt me to drag my crockpot out of the cupboard lol.

I love hearing what you think, please leave a reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

