Tea Cup Tuesday – When tea becomes ritual

Banana and Coconut Loaf

“When tea becomes ritual, it takes its place at the heart of our ability to see greatness in small things. Where is beauty to be found? In great things that, like everything else, are doomed to die, or in small things that aspire to nothing, yet know how to set a jewel of infinity in a single moment? ”  — Muriel Barbery (The Elegance of the Hedgehog)

Yesterday my day turned out differently than I had originally planned but the  bonus was being able to squeeze in some time to bake this yummy banana and coconut loaf, making Lentil, carrot and kumara soup for dinner and creating this layout.

I am organising a winter self-care swap and I got those participating, myself included  to complete a questionnaire about self-care and what it means to them.  I decided to use a few of my own responses to the questionnaire for the journalling on this layout.

I am quite proud of myself I made the flower (I know I am slow to the cut and create your own flower thing). Traced a butterfly shape onto coloured card, cut it and then inked the edges in charcoal ink. The colours  used on the layout are some of my fav colour combos. My journalling can be removed from the layout.

What I have discovered in the last few weeks is that I enjoy scrapping more when I want to do it not when feel I should scrap.  I am enjoying trying some new things and even better is I am really liking what I am producing.

Comments

  1. Stunning layout! Well done

  2. Love the layout – and the colour combo … very nice! ;)

  3. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the journey back into scrapping – such a great subject too:) I am liking the sound of that loaf very much – might just try that one – thanks.

  4. Gorgeous colours on that layout, so very you.

  5. love it! gotta love red and turquoise, I never get sick of it!

  6. Yummy looking loaf. Fab layout too – great colour combo!

  7. Yay for rolled flowers and yummy loafs!

  8. Awesome layout, Janine. The flower is beautiful – well done!

  9. Super LO – love it :-)

  10. reading this post just made me hungry :)

    Love the layout, the color combo caught my eyes right away.

  11. That cake looks delicious!
    Love the layout :)

  12. Love the layout and especially the rolled flower – just like the one I learnt from Bev – I made hundreds to make a lampshade after I saw a photo of the wonderful one she made.

  13. Nice to see you have rediscovered the joys of scrapbooking, it’s a great layout!

  14. another fabulous layout … love the colours and the way that you have put this together … cuppa tea ???

I love hearing what you think, please leave a reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

