Tea Cup Tuesday – A True Warrior

“A true warrior, like tea, shows his strength in hot water.” - Ancient Chinese proverb

Tea Cup Tuesday 16 August 2011

Today, I thought I would get a shot of me with afternoon tea standing in the snow. We took this photo just as the snow started to fall again this afternoon. Within 15 minutes our backyard looked like this.

Mike worked from home today. So I decided to make him macaroni and cheese for lunch and Pinwheel Scones for afternoon tea.


Its been years since I made Pinwheel scones, but a search on the internet found me trying this recipe by Hadley Wickham who advises that the source of this recipe is from a Rally Cookbook.

Scones

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups plain flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons butter
3 teaspoons baking powder
2 tablespoons boiling water
5-6 tablespoons milk

Variation Suggestions:
Date – add half a cup of chopped dates.
Cheese – add 1 cup grated cheese and 1/4 teaspoon dry mustard powder to dry ingredients.
Pinwheel – roll out into a rectangle 1cm thick. Sprinkle with1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. Roll into log from short side and cut into slices. Place on well greased foil or non-stick baking sheet for easy clean-up.
Savoury – Add chopped cooked bacon and chopped parsley to dry ingredients.

To Make:

  • Preheat oven to hot –220C
  • Sift flour, baking powder and salt. Stir in any fruit/cheese etc.
  • Melt the butter in the boiling water in a cup and add the milk to bring it up to 3/4 cup.
  • Pour wet ingredients into the dry. Mix quickly and lightly with a spoon. Mix should look soft and moist – add more milk if needed.
  • Pat out into a rectangle on a lightly floured counter and cut into shapes – 8-10.
  • Brush tops with milk and bake immediately in a hot oven for 10 minutes.

Reminder: Don’t forget you can win this gorgeous kit here, you have until Friday to enter the draw.

Read this post here for instructions.

Comments

  1. I’ve been hearing about your snow over the ditch, it’s certainly an impressive fall!
    Hope you didn’t get too chilly and those scones look delish :)

  2. I enjoyed seeing today’s snow photos – and the one of you in the snow with your cuppa is pretty neat! Lucky Mike, getting home-cooked goodies for lunch and afternoon tea. I have 2 Rally cookbooks and that is the pinwheel scone recipe I always use. Yours look delish!

  3. Love the pic of you with your afternoon tea in the snow! I wanted to set up a steaming hot cup of something out on the deck chairs I took a pic of but didn’t actually do it. And … do you not actually have a copy of the Rally cookbook? I need to fix that if you don’t … :o)

  4. Cool snow pictures. Nothing like warm lunch and afternoon tea to warm up on a cold snow day. I love pinwheel scones and I make these most weekends with grated cheese and ham and throw them in the freezer to pull out for the boys lunches.

  5. Well if it’s another snow day here today, then pinwheel scones it is …thanks for the recipe.

  6. Those scones look delicious!
    But as you know, my scones turn out like small windowless buildings….Maybe I could get Stef to try the recipe…lol!!!!

  7. Oh wow … it’s been a while since I made pinwheel scones … mouth is watering sitting here as I type … and wait for it … you will love this one … there is a recipe on the food in a minute website [you know I cannot do the linky thing to save myself] … check it out … dessert recipe … it uses jam – can’t remember what it is called … but in the recipe you have grated apple or pear as well … check it out … made it on Sunday night and it is a.b.s.o.l.u.t.e.l.y. heavenly … true!!!!

  8. I absolutely love your ‘when in doubt brew it up’ mug’!

I love hearing what you think, please leave a reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

