Tea Cup Tuesday – I had a little tea party

The Tea Party

I had a little tea party
This afternoon at three.
‘Twas very small-
Three guest in all-
Just I, myself and me.

Myself ate all the sandwiches,
While I drank up the tea;
‘Twas also I who ate the pie
And passed the cake to me.

~Jessica Nelson North

Whilst I didn’t have a tea party this afternoon I did make myself a cup of tea and ate a piece of the Lemon and Coconut Brownie that I had made. There is something self indulgent about spending half and hour reading a magazine or two while the afternoon sun is streaming in through the window.

Lemon and Coconut Brownie

Ingredients:

250g butter
430g (2 cups) caster sugar
4 eggs
225g (1 1/2 cups) plain flour
85g (1 cup) desiccated coconut
3 tsp finely grated lemon rind
60ml (1/4 cup) fresh lemon juice
Icing sugar, to dust

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 180C. Line a 20 x 30cm (base measurement) slab pan with non-stick baking paper.
  • Melt the butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Remove from heat. Stir in sugar. Add eggs, 1 at a time, and stir until mixture is thick and glossy.
  • Sift the flour over the egg mixture and stir until well combined. Stir in coconut, lemon rind and lemon juice. Spread over base of prepared pan.
  • Bake for 30 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. Set aside in the pan to cool completely.
  • Sprinkle icing sugar over the brownie when cool.

Comments

  1. Ohhh I want to have a tea party. That slice sounds devine too – I wonder if it will work with GF flour? Or maybe I’ll just make it & eat it all myself :-)

  2. LOL
    I love that poem, I can picture you dining on the cake and enjoying the cups of tea ;)

    Your parcel was posted this arfternoon ;)

  3. Sounds yummy! Good for you, sitting back reading a mag, with something yum!

  4. oh sounds like bliss – might try that this weekend!

  5. Sounds divine:)

  6. Yumm!!!
    Sounds like a very relaxing afternoon ;-)

  7. Sounds wonderful! :-)

  8. What every girl needs, time to ponder your up coming day. Good on you

I love hearing what you think, please leave a reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

