Self Care Sunday – Inspired by Chocolat

I love that I had another relaxing and Self Care Sunday.

Today I;

  • Read chapters from Peaches for Monsieur le Curé by Joanne Harris. As I was reading and becoming reacquainted with some of the characters from Chocolat, I found myself visualising the characters from the movie, i.e. Johnny Depp as Roux and Juliette Binoche as Vianne.
  • I stopped reading and ended up watching Chocolat on DVD again.

Inspired by the movie I made a batch of bath melts.

Don’t you think they look like white chocolate?

Chocolat Bath Melts

56 grams of cocoa butter

1/2 cup baking soda

1/4 cup citric acid

30 drops of lavender

20 drops of geranium essential oil

Place the cocoa butter in a clean bowl. Place the bowl over boiling water in a pot and melt the cocoa butter.  When the cocoa butter has melted remove the bowl from the heat. Sift the baking soda and citric acid into the cocoa butter. Mix well and add essential oils. Mix again and spoon mixture into molds*. Place in freezer until solid or leave in a cool place until set. These bath melts smell divine and I can’t wait to use them in future baths. I would only use 1 to 2 melts per bath.

What inspired you today?

*I used chocolate molds for this. I don’t use these molds for food use at all.

Comments

  1. You’re a clever chickie, I bet your melts smell devine

  2. They do look like white chocolate goodies, but I bet they smell waaay better ;)

  3. How are you enjoying the book – I am keen to read it soon!

    Your bath melts look divine – where can you buy the cocoa butter. My daughter was making bath bombs this weekend but this looks fun too!

  4. Glad to hear you had a lovely, relaxing Sunday.

  5. good enough to eat! …. oh wait…

  6. I had a bath last night … couldn’t even find some epsom salts to sprinkle in … might have to prepare something for next time. :)

  7. Michelle Frisby says:

    yep – kinda look more like choc-o-late to me …

  8. yes, they look like white chocolate!

  9. I totally thought you had made chocolate! If I had seen them, I would have eaten one. LOL!

  10. Love love these – where do you get cocoa butter from?

  11. Just devine. So convincing as white chocolate!

I love hearing what you think, please leave a reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

